The Faculty of Arts was established in 1996 as one of the colleges where Thamar University was opened in the same year. In that time four departments were opened namely; Archeology, Arabic Language, English Language and Islamic Studies. The Department of Islamic Studies was closed one year later. In the second year of the faculty foundation three new departments were opened. They are History, Geography and French. In 2000/2001, the Department of Psychology was opened. In fact, the faculty is still trying to open more academic departments like Media, Translation and Department of Sociology to contribute to meeting the needs of society and its development.

Latest News